The Delicious Sense

“I made my way through a shower of petals to the great trunk
and for one minute stood irresolute –

then putting my foot in the broad space between the forked branches,
I pulled myself up into the tree.
I had some difficulty holding on,
for the branches were very large
and the bark hurt my hands.

But I had the delicious sense that
I was doing something unusual and wonderful,
so I kept on climbing higher and higher –
until I reached a little seat which somebody had built there
so long ago that it had grown part of the tree itself.

I sat there for a long time, feeling like a fairy on a rosy cloud.

After that I spent many happy hours in my tree of paradise,
thinking fair thoughts and dreaming bright dreams.”
-Helen Keller

Leave a Reply

